used to fly, now i float

Live Footage of Brooklyn

The only thing getting me through this morning (besides copious amounts of coffee) is Live Footage, the project of cellist Topu Lyo (of Quitzow, Setting Sun and Skidmore Fountain) and drummer Mike Thies. I first saw them perform at coco66 in Greenpoint, and I can liken the experience to slowly being wrapped in blankets inexplicably crafted from gorgeous sound. I’ve never met someone who can take total command of pedals, repeaters and a stringed instrument like Topu, and I’ve been bugging Live Footage to put out an EP like, yesterday, so I can listen to them all the time. For now, though, I am relegated to MySpace, as are you. Get on it. “1976 I” is my favorite.

live-footage2

Leave a Reply

